Cosafa to kick off AFCON preps…as Sichone names 30-member Prov

THE Football Association of Zambia (FAZ) says the 2023 Hollywoodbets Cosafa Cup will kick off preparations for the 2023 Ivory Coast Africa Cup of Nations scheduled to kick off in January next year.

Speaking in an interview after Zambia qualified for the AFCON, ending an eight-year absence, FAZ General Secretary Rueben Kamanga said the association is committed to ensuring that the team is prepared adequately for the AFCON.
Kamanga noted that the Cosafa Cup kicking off next month in South Africa will also be used to prepare for the CHAN and World Cup qualifiers scheduled for this year.
“The road map starts with Cosafa next month, we are participating and we are just not participating we are participating to prepare for the CHAN and the qualifiers for the CHAN will be preparations to the Africa Cup of Nations,” Kamanga said.
“We also have a couple of friendlies we are planning to prepare the team for the Africa Cup of Nations. There are a lot of things we are putting in place and we have the World Cup qualifiers later in the year so they will all serve as preparations for the Africa Cup nations you will see a lot of activities at the football house in the next few months,” he said.
Meanwhile, Chipolopolo assistant coach Moses Sichone has named a 30-member provisional squad for the 2023 Hollywoodbets Cosafa Cup.
Sichone, who will lead the defending champions at the 26th edition of the tournament has named an array of top league performers and some rookies notably under-17 20232 AFCON forward Emmanuel Mwanza.
The Chipolopolo will enter camp today in Lusaka as they plot their title defense.
At the Cosafa, Zambia will compete in Group B and will open its account on July 6 against the Flames of Malawi before facing Comoros three days later.
The final group match will be against Seychelles on July 11 at the Princess Magogo Stadium.
GOALKEEPERS – Lawrence Mulenga (Power Dynamos), Victor Chabu (Nchanga Rangers), and Francis Mwansa (Trident).
DEFENDERS – Aaron Katebe (Power Dynamos), Samson Mkandawire, John Chsihimba (both Zesco United), Dominic Chanda, Killian Kanguluma (both Kabwe Warriors), Benedict Chepeshi (Red Arrows), Pride Mwansa (Nkwazi), Gift Mphande (Athletico Lusaka) and Mathews Chabala (Nchanga Rangers).
MIDFIELDERS – Kelvin Kampamba, Chanda Mukuka, Kelvin Kapumbu (all Zesco United), Joshua Mutale, Frederick Mulambia (both Power Dynamos), Abraham Siankombo (Zanaco), Francis Zulu (Prison Leopards), Patson Kwataine (Mufulira Wanderers), Oliver Lumbiya (Nkana), Moyela Libamba (Forest Rangers), John Kosamu and Jack Chirwa (both Green Buffaloes).
STRIKERS – Andrew Phiri (Muza FC), Golden Mashata (Green Buffaloes), Albert Kangwanda (Red Arrows), Harry Milanzi Junior (Green Buffaloes), and Emmanuel Mwanza (Kafue Celtic), Kingstone Mutandwa (Athletico Lusaka).

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *